Estonian Concrete Building of the Year Award goes to a private residence in Viimsi

Press Release
14 March 2018

This year’s Concrete Day took place at the Film Museum where the Estonian Concrete Association announced the winners of the ‘Concrete Building of the Year Awards 2017’.

The Concrete Building of the Year 2017 is a private residence in Viimsi.

The main prize – client Mait Rõõmusaar.

Best Architect: Mateusz Kuo Stolarski (Tamizo Architects, Poola);

Best Constructor: Andrei Kervališvili (Nordecon Betoon OÜ);

Best Construction Works: Nordecon Betoon OÜ;

Best Concrete Works: HC Betoon AS;

Best Formwork: Peri AS.

Watch an introductory video about the private residence:

The jury’s comment: „It’s a good example of how the customer knows what kind of building he wants and also finds the right constructors who will fulfill his ideas.”

The jury’s chairman Aadu Kana: „This house has a wealth of concrete secrets that are visible only to an extremely experienced eye. The idea and the implementation are very good.”

Photo galleries of winners can be downloaded here:


Special Award for the outstanding architectural landscape design – Polar bear world of Tallinn Zoo – Joonas Sarapuu (Innopolis Insenerid OÜ).

The jury’s comment: „From the point of view of architecture and concrete it has an eligible place in the growing and renewing zoo. Excellent result!”


Special award for Architecture – Lutheri Ärimaja machine room – Hanno Grossschmidt (HG Arhitektuur OÜ).

The jury’s comment: „For preserving and exhibiting the historical concrete architecture. Excellent cooperation between the constructor and the customer. A reasonable compromise between the demands of heritage protection office and the needs of the new concept.”

The jury’s chairman Aadu Kana: „An excellent example of unison between old and new. The old concrete of the Luther’s factory, dates back to 1912, has been dignifiedly preserved.  An important example of industrial architecture has been preserved for the future.”


Special Award for the design solution – Hans Hubert Sams – Rocca al Mare School’s open-air classroom Ateena.

The jury’s comment: „For an original idea that got an excellent architectural implementation. This open-air classroom is the outcome of good will and cooperation; it has a versatile range of applications and is visually appealing to the eye.”

The jury’s chairman Aadu Kana: „The idea of the classroom originates from the high schooler Hans Hubert Sams. His idea was fitted into the school’s existing environment by the author of the school Emil Urbel. The construction of it was carried out by the parents of schoolchildren, among whom we can find a number of well-known concrete men.”


The (Äripäev) Readers’ Award goes to – Polar bear world of Tallinn Zoo and its constructor is – Astlanda Ehitus OÜ.

Delfi (Ekspress Meedia) Readers’ Award goes to – Rocca al Mare school’s open-air classroom Ateena.

The Special Award of the Estonian Association of Civil Engineers goes to – Martin Meisalu (Järelpinge Inseneribüroo OÜ) – the designer of the tram line infrastructure up to the Tallinn’s Airport.


The Concrete Building of the Year Awards which took place this year was already the eighteenth time this event had been run. The aim of the awards is to make people aware of the wider areas of application for concrete and to acknowledge those people who have used this versatile and easy-to-shape domestic building material to implement their ideas.

Nineteen projects were submitted to this year’s competition. Qualification involved concrete buildings that were delivered to the contractor in 2017, as well as any structures and procedures which were used within them.

The jury of the Concrete Building of the Year Awards 2017 included representatives from various Estonian construction associations: the Estonian Association of Architects – Kalle Vellevoog, the Estonian Concrete Association – Kalev Ramjalg, the Estonian Association of Construction Entrepreneurs – Indrek Peterson, the Estonian Association of Civil Engineers – Heiki Meos, the Estonian Association of Architectural and Consulting Engineering Companies – Andres Saar, the Association of Construction Material Producers of Estonia – Enno Rebane, Aadu Kana, the jury’s chairman, and also construction journalists – Eva Kiisler, the chief editor of construction publications in „Äripäev”, Liivi Tamm from „EhitusEST”, and Finnish architect Maritta Koivisto from „Betoni”.


The Estonian Concrete Association incorporates 58 companies, organisations, and private individuals, and aims to promote the use of concrete as a domestic construction material.

The Association of Construction Material Producers of Estonia incorporates 62 member companies which are involved in the production and sale of construction materials.


Additional information:

Aadu Kana, Concrete Building of the Year Awards 2017, jury chairman; Estonian Concrete Association, Honorary Member
Ph.: +372 504 9477

Toomas Vainola, Estonian Concrete Association, CEO
Ph.:+372 503 6650 or +372 648 1918; email:

Enno Rebane, Association of Construction Material Producers of Estonia, CEO
Ph.: +372 518 2662 or +372 648 1918;

This site is registered on as a development site.